The Munitions Girls

  • Title: The Munitions Girls
  • Author: Rosie Archer
  • ISBN: 9781848664944
  • Page: 289
  • Format: Paperback
  • The Munitions Girls An enthralling eventful WW saga from the popular writer of the Daisy Lane novels perfect for fans of Daisy Styles Gosport Hampshire Pixie Saunders is and employed in the local armaments fa
    An enthralling, eventful WW2 saga from the popular writer of the Daisy Lane novels perfect for fans of Daisy Styles 1943, Gosport, Hampshire Pixie Saunders is 19 and employed in the local armaments factory Not for the first time, her mother has run off with a dodgy looking bloke, leaving Pixie to pay the rent and fend for herself Pixie, along with her best friend RitAn enthralling, eventful WW2 saga from the popular writer of the Daisy Lane novels perfect for fans of Daisy Styles 1943, Gosport, Hampshire Pixie Saunders is 19 and employed in the local armaments factory Not for the first time, her mother has run off with a dodgy looking bloke, leaving Pixie to pay the rent and fend for herself Pixie, along with her best friend Rita, Em, the factory overseer, and the rest of the girls are making the most of the war while trying to stay alive The work is dangerous and the hours long, but in the evenings they take off their overalls and go to the pub or, better still, go dancing Pixie meets American serviceman Cal and falls in love But then Cal rejoins his ship When Pixie falls pregnant, her life changes dramatically Alone and unable to work, she has to rely on the kindness of friends to help her survive Happiness seems like a thing of the past Little does she know that there are plenty of surprises waiting for her good ones at that Love may be closer than she thinks.

    • Best Read [Rosie Archer] ↠ The Munitions Girls || [Self Help Book] PDF ✓
      289 Rosie Archer
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Rosie Archer] ↠ The Munitions Girls || [Self Help Book] PDF ✓
      Posted by:Rosie Archer
      Published :2019-07-23T04:47:01+00:00

    About Rosie Archer


    1. Rosie Archer Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Munitions Girls book, this is one of the most wanted Rosie Archer author readers around the world.


    768 Comments


    1. The Munitions Girls written by Rosie Archer is the first book in this wonderful series, this is one book I am happy to recommend to other readers of historical fiction especially those based on or around the Second World War.

      Reply

    2. couldn't put it down brilliant from start to finish I was drawn into the book I could see everything playing out

      Reply

    3. I really enjoyed following the lives of these characters. As the book moves along we see the challenges faced through War time but some happy times too. A book I would highly recommend if you enjoy this genre.

      Reply

    4. I Read this on the kindle I have got to chapter 9 but while I enjoy this Genre of books this just didn't keep me entertained enough to keep reading this book rather read books I have previously read than keep on with this one

      Reply

    5. It was very interesting to read, because my grandmother was one of the factory girls.

      Reply

    6. A historical fiction set in the 1940's during the Second World War with many historical facts covering both work and entertainment makes this book very believable .'The Munitions Girls' is a story of survival and tells of the challenges 3 friends face in their day to day lives, but also tells of happy times, hope, love and understanding. It is an easy read , and book one of a series that you can read as a standalone.I really enjoyed this book and would like to continue reading about these amazin [...]

      Reply

    7. Loved this book from the first page, I felt I really warmed to the characters and had to keep reading to find out what happened to them it was so compelling! Great mixture of a WWII setting, drama and romance. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!

      Reply

    8. Beautifully writtenI nursed somebody who had been I injured in a munitions factory. Really accurate writing. The characters came to life. Loved the canary😃

      Reply

    9. Lots of PoV switching and lack of solid characterisation means that it's easy to get the characters mixed up early on. That said, it's not actively offensive and it's a very quick read

      Reply

    10. fantastic book. I felt like I was really there with the characters. it was funny and a little sad but good fun. a good read deffinately

      Reply

    11. I really enjoyed this book. It's the story of 3 friends working in an armaments factory during WW2. Its an easy read and you are soon drawn into the ups and downs of the girls lives. I look forward to reading more of this series

      Reply

    12. The Munitions Girls written by Rosie Archer is the first book in this wonderful series, this is one book I am happy to recommend to other readers of historical fiction especially those based on or around the Second World War.This wonderful series is based in Gosport where three friends Pixie, Emily and of course, the gorgeous Rita are working hard in a munitions factory building bombs to help the war effort. These three girls are like family to each other and as we are told each of their stories [...]

      Reply

    13. The Second World War is well under way and in the southerly coastal city of Gosport near Portsmouth, where a major harbour is a target for bombing, the women can earn well in the munitions factory.So we see the hazards of this life. With the best and fittest men away, the slimiest are left in charge in some cases. Women are still regarded as easy targets by these men. Other women scorn a girl with a baby but no husband - we even hear the 'no better than she should be' remark beloved of the late [...]

      Reply

    14. This book was really enjoyable. What a good plot, fantastic characters and I really enjoyed this story. Was really sad that Cal died, I liked him and I wish he had reunited with Pixie at the end. However, I did really like Bob, I must admit I fell in love with his kind nature! I also loved Gladys and the journey she went on, thought it was believable and a very exciting read. The only thing I didn't like about this book was that it was a bit slow going at times, but am overall fantastic historic [...]

      Reply

    15. I adored thisIt was romantic realistic adorable funny heartwarming I loved pixie her life was hard she fell for cal but Bob was my man he was caring kind and open minded It's set during the Second World War so there's a lot of historical fact about the entertainment of the time and what was generally thought of single mothersI can't wait for the follow up more please Rosie archer

      Reply

    16. The first of a (currently) 4 part series set in Gosport during ww2. I really enjoyed this book as it was so easy to get into, hence why I managed to finish it in 1 day. Looking forward to reading book 2 now. This is definitely a must read for wartime saga fans!

      Reply

    17. I really enjoyed this book very much. I love all these these wartime sagas and this was no exception. It was well written and easy flowiing and I fell in love with the characters. Am looking forward to the next 3 in the series.

      Reply

    18. Read all june hampsons(rosie archers) books and loved them all and was waiting for her to bring a new one out and it didn't dissapoin.

      Reply

    19. I'm not really sure how I felt about this book, so will write a review at a later date, and maybe change my rating after reading the rest of the series.

      Reply

    20. I loved reading this book, what a great story! with lots of detail! time for the second book!

      Reply

    21. A story about a group of people who work in a munitions factory in Gosport during the war.

      Reply

    22. An enjoyable read but pretty much exactly the same plot as every other book I've read set in this era!

      Reply

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *